My New Year’s Resolution

I made several resolutions for the new year, and one of them was to get my own blog up and running. One new year’s resolution down and only four more to go! 

The second part of that resolution? To write a blog every week. As some of you might already know, I’ve been the wedding blog writer for Ponte Winery for some time now. I’ve enjoyed that role but have longed for my own blog. I will still continue to write for this amazing venue, however this is where all of my blogs will post regularly and some will reappear on the Ponte Winery wedding blog, Wedding Vines.

My third resolution? To get a professional camera so I can upload cool photos to go along with each post. Photogs….any advice on what this newbie should purchase? Hmmm…..tough decison! I came to the realization that I can’t have an amazing photographer with me everywhere I go….so the next best thing would be to get a professional camera and try my very best. Just the other day I was sitting with a bride chatting about her wedding over cupcakes and all I wanted to do was take a picture of the beautifully frosted creation! So, I have no choice, a professional camera is resolution number 3.

I will save resolution 4 and 5 for another time. In the meantime, I thank you for following me on my journey and I look forward to meeting up with all of you each week =)

10 Responses

  1. I had the same resolution for this year – a good camera. I just purchased a Canon G-10 after consulting with a few of my photographer friends. It has an AUTO setting as well as MANUAL. I signed up for a photography class (starts in February) and I’m excited!! Hope you have fun with this project, too!!

    “Cheers!”
    ~Melissa Allen
    The Ebell of Los Angeles

    • Thanks for the tip, I’m going to need to check that camera out. Some photography classes sound like a good idea too…..fun times ahead! Have a fabulous weekend =)

  2. Hi Kerry,
    I love your new Blog! Good photo of you! I think your on the right track with your New Year’s Resolutions! These things will only enhance your business! Went to a ISES event last night and the topic was Social Media – all about blogs and twitter etc. and creating a buzz about your business. It was really interesting! Glad you are up and running! Good job!
    My Best,
    ~Lynn

    • Teri told me about that meeting. Sounded like valuable information. Thanks for all your support!

  3. Love the new blog Kerry, I am so happy you finally started your own! It takes dedication to blog and do it well. Just stick with it at least once a week, then build on that! Blogging is just another avenue for creativity, I absolutely love writing.
    Let me know when you want to go camera shopping 🙂
    Looking forward to many more posts. Cheers to a fabulous 2010!

    • Thanks for all your support! I’m very excited about my new adventure =)

  4. Dear Kerry – Congratulations on your new blog! We’ve enjoyed your musings on Ponte Winery’s Wedding Vines blog and look forward to what you come up with on Le Blog de Luxe. At CAKE, we shared your experience in coming to the conclusion we needed our own camera. Regional photographers are beyond-generous in sharing their work, but we kept having those “we can’t believe no one’s here to shoot this!” moments. We went a step down from the Canon G-10 with a Canon SX-10. The price was right and we’re pleased with the results. You can see examples of what it does each month on CAKE. Wine Country photographer, Dan Pettus, has an ongoing photography class series at Wilson Creek Winery. Now quit reading this, pick up your pen and get back to work! Take Care – Karon & Michael Cartwright of CAKE Wedding Newsletter.

  5. This is my favorite blog ever!

  6. If you MUST go with a point and shoot… the Lumix. So RTP says neway.

  7. Hey Kerry! Congrats on the new blog! Looking forward to getting together again with you soon!

    Blessings,
    Holly

Leave a Reply

